Stars of Life Honorees Recognized at State Capitol 

Ryan Brothers Starts of Life:
David Gross, Steve Zank, Jesse Ashwill and Lori Deforest

Madison, Wisconsin - Nominated by their respective ambulance service employers as the best of the best, twenty Stars of Life from the class of 2010 and 2011 were honored at the State Capitol in Madison on October 18.  A Joint Resolution was voted on in their presence in both the Senate and Assembly acknowledging their EMS professionalism that was accompanied by a standing ovation from elected leaders in both house chambers.  The daylong event was proudly produced by the Professional Ambulance Association of Wisconsin.

The group was welcomed in the Capitol Rotunda by Department of Health Services Deputy Secretary Kitty Rhoades, a longtime advocate of EMS, Joint Resolution co-sponsors, Senator Sheila Harsdorf and Representative Dean Kaufert, himself a newly licensed EMT, as well as State EMS Office ALS Program Coordinator Fred Hornby.  The Stars then moved to the Senate chambers, followed by the Assembly, for reading of the Resolution and high honors of congratulations extended by the State.

Stars also met individually with their local legislators to discuss EMS and have photos with their elected leaders.  Over 26 legislative appointments were scheduled for Stars honorees, to include Governor Scott Walker. 

According to PAAW President Patrick Ryan, "Stars stood up for EMS today at the State Capitol.  It was nice to see their contributions and this award noted, honored and recognized."